

Dec. 12, 2024

C:
Je Lockhart
lockhart@smu.edu
214-768-4314

Foc	ir-tim	e nat	ional runni	ng back	of the wee	ek has led Broncos to Mountain West title, berth in College Football Playo	
ÐA	Α	() - The	С	Α	is proud to announce Boise State junior running back A	as the winner o
the	202	4 Do	ak Walker	Award.	The anno	ouncement came during <i>The Home Depot College Football Awards</i> on ESPN.	

The formal presentation of the award will take place in Dallas at the annual banquet scheduled for Jan. 31, 2025. The PwC Doak Walker Legends Award will also be presented at the event.

Jeanty, Boise State's first Doak Walker Award winner, has rewritten his school and conference record books this season and is on the cusp of college football history. The Mountain West O ensive Most Valuable Player has 2,497 rushing yards, the fourth-highest single-season total in FBS history and within reach of Barry Sanders' 1988 record mark of 2,628 single-season yards with at least one more game to play. Four times this season, Jeanty was chosen the the Doak Walker National Running Back of the Week.

His 344 carries leads the nation and have outpaced the totals of 115 FBS teams and has led the Broncos into the College Football Playo for the first time. No. 3 seed Boise State will host winner between Penn State and SMU in the quarterfinals at the Vrbo Fiesta Bowl on Dec. 31.

Jeanty, a 5-9 junior from Jacksonville, Fla., who played in high school nearby at Lone Star High School in Frisco, Texas, was selected from two other outstanding finalists, Omarion Hampton of North Carolina and Kaleb Johnson of Iowa. Playing a 13th game – Boise State beat UNLV 21-7 last weekend in the MW Championship Game with Jeanty rushing for 205 yards – and with five games of 200-plus rush yards has pushed Jeanty 837 yards ahead of second-place Hampton on the NCAA's rushing yards list and almost 960 yards ahead of Johnson.

Riding in large part on Jeanty's rushing success and that of Boise State's o ensive line, the Broncos are in the top five nationally of multiple o ensive categories. Jeanty has scored 29 rushing touchdowns – equaling or besting the total of 118 FBS teams – and his 7.3 yards per carry leads the FBS among players with 160-plus rushing attempts. He also leads the nation in all-purpose yards (2,613), total touchdowns (30) and points (180). His Pro Football Focus rushing grade is 97.5, the highest single-season mark during the College Football Playo era (since 2014).

The dynamic back is known for signature breakaway touchdowns and much as his yardage has come in bunches. Lots of them. Jeanty has 12 rushes of 50-plus yards and 10 of 60-plus yards. Of his 364 touches, 121 have gained first downs. Per Boise State statistics, Jeanty has gained 1,889 yards after contact – more than any other FBS player's season total – to log an FBS single-season record. He has five rushing touchdowns of 70-plus yards, tying 2000 Doak Walker Award winner LaDainian Tomlinson of TCU (from 1999) for the most in FBS single-season history since 1996. Jeanty is the first player since at least 1996 to eclipse 125 rushing yards in 13 straight games.

Boise State won back-to-back MW championships for the first time and has an 11-game win streak as it enters the postseason as the CFP's No. 3 seed in Spencer Danielson's first full season as head coach. Danielson was named a finalist for the Football Writers Association's Eddie Robinson Award earlier this week.

Jeanty join's BYU's Luke Staley (2001) as just the second Mountain West player to win this award. He is also a finalist for the Heisman Trophy, which will announce its winner Saturday.

The D	Α	presented by the PwC S	SMU Athletic F	orum has been	awarde	ed to the nation's top running back since 1990.
The Doak Walker	Award	is a member of the	С	Α	Α	. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA includes
3		5				900 recipients dating back to 1935. For more
mormation abou	it the iv	CFAA and its award progr	ams, visit incr	AA.org or iolio	W OH X a	at @NCFAA.

For more information on the Doak Walker Award, contact Je Lockhart (lockhart@smu.edu or 214-768-4314) at the PwC SMU Athletic Forum, visit smu.edu/doakwalkeraward and follow on X at @DoakWalkerAward.



	•••••	
2024	•	Omarion Hampton, North Carolina; Kaleb Johnson, Iowa
2023	Ollie Gordon II, Oklahoma State	Omarion Hampton, North Carolina; Cody Schrader, Missouri
2022	Bijan Robinson, Texas	
2021		Tyler Badie, Missouri; Breece Hall, Iowa State
2020	Najee Harris, Alabama	
2019	Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin	J.K. Dobbins, Ohio State; Chuba Hubbard, Oklahoma State
2018	Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin	Travis Etienne, Clemson; Darrell Henderson, Memphis
2017	Bryce Love, Stanford	Saquon Barkley, Penn State; Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin
2016	D'Onta Foreman, Texas	Dalvin Cook, Florida State; Donnel Pumphrey, San Diego State
2015	Derrick Henry, Alabama	Leonard Fournette, LSU; Christian McCa rey, Stanford
2014	Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin	Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska; Tevin Coleman, Indiana
2013	Andre Williams, Boston College	Ka'Deem Carey, Arizona; Bishop Sankey, Washington
2012	Montee Ball, Wisconsin	Kenjon Barner, Oregon; Johnathan Franklin, UCLA
2011	Trent Richardson, Alabama	
2010	LaMichael James, Oregon	John Clay, Wisconsin; Kendall Hunter, Oklahoma State
2009	Toby Gerhart, Stanford	
2008	Shonn Greene, Iowa	Knowshon Moreno, Georgia; Javon Ringer, Michigan State
2007	Darren McFadden, Arkansas	Mike Hart, Michigan; Ray Rice, Rutgers
2006	Darren McFadden, Arkansas	Mike Hart, Michigan; Steve Slaton, West Virginia
2005	Reggie Bush, USC	Jerome Harrison, Washington State; DeAngelo Williams, Memphis
2004	Cedric Benson, Texas	J.J. Arrington, California; Adrian Peterson, Oklahoma
2003	Chris Perry, Michigan	Kevin Jones, Virginia Tech; Darren Sproles, Kansas State
2002	Larry Johnson, Penn State	
2001	Luke Staley, BYU	Bruce Perry, Maryland; Travis Stephens, Tennessee
2000	LaDainian Tomlinson, TCU	Damien Anderson, Northwestern; Anthony Thomas, Michigan
1999	Ron Dayne, Wisconsin	Thomas Jones, Virginia; Shaun Alexander, Alabama
1998		Mike Cloud, Boston College; Ron Dayne, Wisconsin
1997	Ricky Williams, Texas	Curtis Enis, Penn State; Ahman Green, Nebraska
1996	Byron Hanspard, Texas Tech	Darnel1consin



Tahj Brooks, Texas Tech DJ Giddens, Kansas State Omarion Hampton, North Carolina RJ Harvey, UCF Makhi Hughes, Tulane Ashton Jeanty, Boise State Kaleb Johnson, Iowa

Dylan Sampson, Tennessee Cam Skattebo, Arizona State Brashard Smith, SMU

0 h > h , > . 4" h...

Omarion Hampton, North Carolina

Ashton Jeanty, Boise State

Kaleb Johnson, Iowa